Shopping local: The Bookworm

Words cannot adequately express how much I enjoy books. I love them. One day, my dream is to have a house with a library nook. In the meantime, I am working on building up my book collection. I enjoy holding real books. I do have an e-reader, but I have found that I really don’t like to read books on it, and it ends up getting used for games instead. I’d much rather read an old, tattered copy of A Tale of Two Cities than a tablet version any day. I like to buy my books at thrift stores, garage sales, and of course, the bookstore. The Bookworm is a fabulous one.

Image

Courtesy of iheartmonster.com

Of course, The Bookworm has lots and lots of books, and I believe that books can make the perfect gift. But the store also has many other items in addition to books, and it has become one of my go-to places for buying Christmas and birthday presents. They have games, toys, decorative items, jewelry, journals, stationery, a great card department, and I’m sure lots of other things I am missing.

Image

In addition to free gift wrapping, they provide very knowledgeable staff members who can assist with book recommendations if you’re not quite sure what to choose. The children’s department is fabulous, and every time I go I wish I could just buy up the whole thing.

Image

A small corner of the children’s department.

It’s located in the basement of The Bookworm, and under the stairs they have my children’s favorite feature: The Goodnight Moon playhouse. My daughters love to go play in there while I am browsing.

Image

One of the major pluses of shopping in a bookstore instead of online is that you can discover books you didn’t even know existed. Of course, if you prefer to purchase books online, you can still shop locally! The Bookworm allows customers to purchase books through its website. You can either have them shipped to your home, or you can opt to pick them up at the store for free. You can even wait to pay for the book until you go to the store to look at it.

Of course there are lots of other benefits to stopping in at The Bookworm in-person. There are a variety of book clubs for all ages and interests, the adjoining Village Grinder coffee shop, book signings, storytimes, and other events.

So stop in and visit my favorite Omaha bookstore, The Bookworm. And be sure to give yourself plenty of time to browse!

Editor’s note: I did not receive any compensation from The Bookworm for writing this review. I just enjoy shopping there!

Leave a comment