Shopping local: V. Mertz

Nestled in the Old Market Passageway, V. Mertz long has stood out to me as one of Omaha’s classiest restaurants. This spring, I finally had the chance to try it.

My husband and I went to V. Mertz to celebrate our anniversary in May. I had read many great reviews for the restaurant, and I was eager to try it for myself. Reservations are recommended, so we reserved a table online about a week in advance.

Image

When we arrived on a Tuesday night, the restaurant was humming. We were immediately greeted and led to the bar, where we waited just a couple of minutes for our table. We were sat near the patio, which was not open that night, but still provided ambiance and people-watching opportunities. The restaurant offers elegant simplicity, with its white tablecloths, candles, exposed brick walls, and tin ceilings. An impressive wine collection and bar area dominate the back of the restaurant. Our server later explained (and apologized) that the restaurant was noisier than usual because of a large party that had been seated. Still, we were able to make conversation and enjoy ourselves without any trouble.

Image

V. Mertz specializes in fine American and French cuisine that is locally sourced whenever possible. The menu changes frequently according to the seasons and ingredient availability. My husband and I each sampled a different first plate, salad, main course and dessert. Our waiter explained the ingredients in each dish as he brought it out to us, which was incredibly helpful as all of the dishes were new to us. While everything we ate was delicious, our favorite samplings were the artisan cheese plate for the first course, roasted duck breast for the main course, and chocolate overload for dessert. The portions were much more generous than I expected them to be, and after a two-hour dinner, we left completely stuffed.

Image

A signature V. Mertz main course

V. Mertz was by far the nicest restaurant I have ever dined in, and the quality of service and food exceeded my expectations. Our bill easily exceeded $100, making it a “special occasion only” spot for us, but we would go back again. Overall, V. Mertz exemplified great service while providing an upscale – but not stuffy – atmosphere. Give it a try when you have something to celebrate or would like a unique dining experience.

Editor’s note: The people who run V. Mertz do not know who I am, and I did not receive any compensation for writing this review. I just enjoy visiting new, local restaurants!

Also, the restaurant seemed way too high-class for me to take pictures of my food during my meal, so all photos have been generously provided by the V. Mertz website.

Leave a Reply

