Shopping local: Village Pointe Farmers Market

I love the farmers market, and, unfortunately, I don’t get there as often as I would like during the summer and fall. When I do head out to buy some farm-fresh produce and other local items, I typically go to the downtown farmers market on Saturday mornings. I’ve heard lots of good things about the Village Pointe Farmers Market, though, so a few weekends ago I went out west instead.

vpmarketsign

The farmers market is set up on the south side of Village Pointe shopping center (168th and W Dodge Road), where there is parking galore. My kids and I walked across the street to the market, which is smaller than the Downtown version. We were greeted by stands filled with fresh flowers, fruits, and veggies. There’s also dairy and eggs, meat products and honey.

The Village Pointe Farmers Market tends to focus strictly on produce and other fresh food. There are some mixes for soups and baked goods, but that’s pretty much all. We didn’t find toys, crafts, and other items like we would have at the downtown market. But that was alright for us. We were just visiting the farmer’s market before hitting the grocery store, so we were focused on food. It was great to chat with the farmers, and the market didn’t seemed rushed or overcrowded.

vpmarketproduce

In the end, we made off with lots of goodies: cucumbers, zucchini, fresh raspberries, free-range eggs, some gift items for our family, bell peppers, corn on the cob, peaches, onions, and dill. You can look at all of the market’s offerings here: www.voterealfood.com.

vpmarketgoodies

I will definitely head back out to the Village Pointe Farmers Market again in the near future, and you should check it out, too. It doesn’t get much more local than that!

Editor’s note: The people at the Village Pointe Farmers Market don’t know who I am, and I did not receive any compensation from them for this post. I just like shopping there!

Leave a Reply

