Shopping local: Mama’s Pizza

Image

Mama’s Pizza has been a restaurant staple for my family for as long as I can remember. I grew up loving their bubbly crust, slightly browned cheese, and zesty pizza sauce. My parents would swing by their Saddle Creek location, which was close to our house, and pick up a couple pizzas for Friday Night Pizza Night. I would tag along with my dad, who would sometimes give me a few quarters for the arcade or buy me a pop at the bar while we waited for our pizza to be ready.

Now, I get to share my love for Mama’s with my own kids. Luckily, Mama’s on Saddle Creek is just a few minutes away from my current house. The red-orange shag carpet they had on the walls during my childhood is long gone (they have since remodeled), but they still have an arcade, bar, and plenty of TVs for sports fans.

Mama’s Midtown, courtesy of Intuit Business

The pizza is still just as delicious. Our little family of four can devour a medium pizza (even though both our kids are under the age of 5) so we recently upgraded to a large. We like the leftovers. Pepperoni and vegetarian (which has TONS of veggies on it) are our favorites. They also have great appetizers and other main courses if you’re craving something else.

Image

Mama’s Veggie pizza, courtesy of OmahaPizzaReview.com

Mama’s also has plenty of space for parties and large gatherings. If you live farther out west, they have a location at 156th and Pacific Street. (I have never been to that one, but I’m guessing it’s good, too.) If you haven’t tried it, you should. There are lots of great local pizza places that will make it worth your while to skip over the chains, and this is definitely one of them.

*Editor’s note: Mama’s Pizza is a member of ShopLocalOmaha, but otherwise they do not know who I am and I received no compensation from them to write this blog post. I just like their pizza, people. 🙂

(Also, please excuse my lack of original photos for this post. I forgot to take a picture of the pizza until it was half-eaten, and a half-eaten pizza does not look nearly as appetizing as a whole one!)

Leave a Reply

